A Hello From Xander

In his inaugural post, DJ said most of what what there is to be said about about Yellow Pigs: students and friends approaching the end of our time together, and creating a thread to connect us as we move to far away places and do far away things. Rather than saying it all again, I’ll just say a few words about myself.

My name is Xander Flood. In a few months I’ll be graduating from the University of Michigan with a Bachelors of Engineering in Computer Science, but number theory and algebraic geometry are what I plan on doing for at least the next five years, and hopefully indefinitely. Beside mathematics, the main things that occupy a substantial part of my energy are food and music, so if the math ever runs dry for a time, maybe I’ll just start posting recipes!

The other eight authors who will be writing for Yellow Pigs have known one another for their entire undergraduate careers, and I’m a bit newer to the group – I only started studying mathematics in a serious way about two years ago, and first got to know this fantastic bunch of folks well in the last year or so. Nonetheless, it will be a bittersweet goodbye to each and every one of them in the coming months, as we move out to dip our toes into the world beyond little Ann Arbor!

Leave a Reply

